Learn from my mistakes

Learn from my mistakes!

A scientist once told me he learns as much from an experiment that goes wrong as one that goes well.  I have dwelt on this for some time and I think now I realize how this can occur, but I am still working on it!  After all, I keep making mistakes so maybe this way I can turn them into a positive instead of a negative!

I once heard a story about a young, up and coming apprentice recently hired in a law firm.  This guy really wants to succeed, so he decides to go talk with the “big boss” in his law firm about how to succeed.  He gets an appointment, goes into the boss’s office and pops the question, “How can I succeed?”  The older lawyer, sits back in his chair, contemplates a few minutes and replies, “Wisdom.”  The young man listens but still he wants to know more, so he follows up with, “And how do you get wisdom?”  The boss waits a moment, then calmly looks the young man in the eye and simply says, “Experience.”  Now, the apprentice thinks, he is getting closer to the heart of things.  In the quiet of the office, he mulls this answer over in his mind, the older lawyer studying the apprentices face, watching the gears of his mind turning.  Finally, the young man seems to accept the last comment, but summons up his courage to ask one final question.  He asks, “How do you get experience?”  The big boss nods knowingly, seeming to expect this question.  He sighs a little, smiles to himself, looks thoughtfully into the young mans eyes and says simply, “Mistakes.”

Ya know, I think the old guy had humility!  Great mindset.

About desertpatrol

I have travelled around many North American deserts and they are beautiful. Now I am gardening and traveling around the deserts of the Middle East. Come visit my blog to see what I am sharing to you!
This entry was posted in desert, Desert Travel, Middle East Travel, Tips for Desert Gardening & Traveling, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

